

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2021

Minutes of the 154th Annual General Meeting of The Royal Society of New South Wales held on Wednesday 7 April 2021 at 6.00pm by ZOOM Webinar.

There were 50 Fellows, Members and guests in attendance. The panel consisted of Professor Ian Sloan (President), Dr Susan Pond (Vice-President), Ms Judith Wheeldon (Vice-President), Mr Bruce Ramage (Secretary) and Ms Wendy Enevoldsen (Returning Officer).

1 WELCOME, ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY AND DIVERSITY STATEMENT

Emeritus Professor Ian Sloan AO FRSN welcomed all those joining the meeting by ZOOM Webinar.

He gave an acknowledgement of country. He also referred to the Society's Diversity and Inclusion Policy.

2 ANNOUNCEMENT OF PROCEDURAL MOTIONS CONDUCTED BY ELECTRONIC BALLOT

Mr Ramage announced the results of the procedural motions that had been conducted by electronic ballot between 18 March and 6 April 2021. He noted that 260 ballots had been submitted from 586 eligible voters, representing an overall return of 44.4%.

2.1 Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting

The motion that the minutes of the 153rd Annual General Meeting held on 22 April 2020 be confirmed was carried. There were 212 votes in favour, 0 against and 48 abstentions.

2.2 Annual Report of Council and the Financial Statements for 2020

The motion that the Annual Report of Council and the Financial Statements for 2020 be received was carried. There were 227 votes in favour, 0 against and 33 abstentions.

There were a number of questions and comments received in relation to the Annual Report and Financial Statements for 2020 which would be addressed at the May Ordinary General Meeting.

2.3 Confirmation of auditors

The motion that Tinworth & Co., Chartered Accountants and Business Advisors, be confirmed as the auditors of the Royal Society of New South Wales for 2021 was carried. There were 235 votes in favour, 0 against and 35 abstentions.

3 ELECTION RESULTS

Ms Enevoldsen, Returning Officer, announced the results of the Council elections.

3.1 President

There were 256 votes tallied with 4 abstentions from 260 ballots. Dr Susan Pond, with 157 votes, was elected for a 2-year term.

3.2 Past President

Under the Society's Rule 16(d) Emeritus Professor Sloan was elected for a 1-year term.

3.3 Vice-President

There were 253 votes tallied with 7 abstentions from 260 ballots. Ms Judith Wheeldon, with 145 votes was elected for a 2-year term.

3.4 Councillors

There were 1968 votes tallied with 14 abstentions from 260 ballots received.

The following members were elected for a 2-year term.

Professor Katherine Belov (206 votes) Dr Davina Jackson (159 votes) The Honourable Virginia Judge (177 votes) Emeritus Professor Christina Slade (174 votes)

The following members were elected for a 1-year term.

Ms Pamela Griffith (158 votes) Dr Donald Hector (151 votes) Professor Eric Knight (148 votes) Emeritus Professor Robert Marks (143 votes)

3.5 Other office-bearers

One nomination each was received for the following four office-bearer positions and these members were therefore declared elected for a 2-year term without ballot.

Secretary: Mr Bruce Ramage Treasurer: Mr John Cameron Librarian: Mr John Hardie Webmaster: Emeritus Professor Lindsay Botten

4 Statement by the President

Professor Sloan thanked the Webmaster and Returning Officer for their work relating to the Council elections. He congratulated the incoming President, Dr Susan Pond, Vice-President, Ms Judith Wheeldon and all newly-elected Councillors on their election.

Professor Sloan then made a personal statement relating to the continuing incarceration of Kathleen Folbigg.

"Kathleen Folbigg was convicted in 2003 of the murder of three of her children and manslaughter of a fourth child.

Since that time new scientific and medical evidence has emerged that indicates the deaths may have had other interpretations.

In particular, in November 2020 appeared 27-author peer-reviewed paper in an Oxford University Press journal devoted to heart rhythms. The paper found genetic abnormalities for the two Folbigg girls, known to be associated with heart failure. An Australian Academy of Science petition was launched in March 2021 signed by 90 leading scientists – including. the President of the Academy, Nobel laureates, former Chief Scientists and others, calling on the Government to pardon Ms Folbigg.

On the day before Easter I and 65 other Fellows of the Royal Society of NSW launched a similar statement.

A message using the Royal Society of NSW mailing lists was sent to all Royal Society of NSW members drawing attention to the statement. That was an error, since this is not an official Royal Society of NSW position. For that I apologise. It will not happen again.

I and the other signatories believe that this is a matter of public importance, and that the newly emerging science has to be listened to. For the signatories, it is interesting that our statement has attracted considerable media attention on News Ltd papers on Monday, 2GB this morning. The voice of 66 Royal Society of NSW Fellows has been heard."

The meeting closed at 6.14pm and was followed immediately by the 1292nd Ordinary General Meeting.

Signed as a true record

10

lan Sloan President

10 April 2021 Date

The Royal Society of New South Wales