

# The Royal Society of New South Wales

"for the encouragement of studies and investigations in Science Art Literature and Philosophy"

## Minutes of the 152<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 3 April 2019 (6-6.30pm) at The State Library, Shakespeare Place, Sydney

- 1. Acknowledgment of the country: read by the President, Ian Sloan, followed by some announcements:
  - a. The show-of-hand voting paper distributed at the signing-in of members was to be used for voting by show of hand.
  - b. The polling by secret ballot for ordinary members of Council opened at 5.30pm and would close at 6.15pm; as previously announced. There were 12 nominations for 10 positions.
  - c. Helen and Terry Jones were introduced as the Returning Officers.

## 2. Apologies

Herma Buttner and Bruce Milthorpe. Regarding Dr Buttner, the President noted that she is standing down as Hon Secretary after years of outstanding service; the Society's appreciation was shown by acclamation.

## 3. Approval of Minutes

The Minutes of the 151<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting held 4 April 2018 were unanimously endorsed by show of hands (moved Erik Aslaksen, seconded Brynn HIbbert).

## 4. Election of Members of Council

The President read out the list of office-bearers recommended by Council:

- President: Ian Sloan
- 3 Vice-Presidents: Brynn Hibbert (immediate-past president), John Hardie, Judith Wheeldon
- Hon. Secretary (Editor): Robert Marks
- Hon. Secretary (General): Bruce Ramage
- Hon. Librarian: Ragbir Bhathal
- Hon. Treasurer: Richard Wilmott
- Hon. Webmaster: Chris Bertram

The assembly unanimously elected (by show of hands) the office-bearers (moved Helen Jones, seconded Robert Whittaker).

For the ordinary members there was an election (by secret ballot, By-law 6f) as there were 12 candidates for 10 positions. Helen and Terry Jones, the returning officers, supervised the election by ballot and gave notice to the assembly one minute before close of polling.

5. **Special resolution:** To allow Mr John Hardie to stand for re-election to Council as Vice-President in accordance with Rule 10 (d) of the Rules of the Royal Society of NSW. The President moved, seconded by Judith Wheeldon; the motion was unanimously carried by show of hands.

## 6. Announcement of Awards

The President read out the RSNSW Awards and Medals 2018 that will be presented by the Governor at the Annual Dinner, on 10 May 2019 at the Swissôtel :

- Clarke Medal (zoology) 2018: Professor Emma Johnston AO, UNSW
- Edgeworth David Medal 2018: Associate Professor Elizabeth J. New, U. Sydney
- History & Philosophy of Science Medal 2018: Professor Paul Griffiths, U Sydney
- James Cook Medal 2018: Professor Elizabeth Elliott AM, U. Sydney
- Poggendorff Lecture 2018: Professor Robert F. Park, U Sydney
- Jak Kelly Award 2018: Anita Petzler, Macquarie University; awarded at Christmas party December 2018
- RSNSW Scholarships 2018: Evelyn Todd, U Sydney; Fiona McDougall, Macquarie University awarded at February 2019 OGM
- 7. Presentation of the Society's 2018 Annual Report and the Audit report on annual income and expenditure

The reports were considered as read having been previously distributed (and available on the web). Also, it was noted that the Hon. Treasurer, Richard Wilmott, was present and available to answer questions. There were no questions. Moved by Judith Wheeldon, seconded by Brynn HIbbert, the reports were unanimously endorsed by show of hands.

## 8. Outcome of election of Ordinary Members to Council

Helen and Terry Jones presented the results to the President, who read out the successful candidates: Mohammad Choucair Robert Clancy Laurel Dyson Donald Hector Nalini Joshi Virginia Judge Stuart Midgley Bruce Milthorpe Susan Pond Ian Wilkinson

The President congratulated the elected members; he also thanked Helen and Terry Jones for their work as well as Thalia Child and Rachel Greenwood (TAS). (It should be noted that the outcomes were presented during the OGM that followed the AGM as the counting took longer than anticipated).

## 9. Other business

There was no other business.

The 1272<sup>nd</sup> OGM followed the AGM.

Signed as true record

J. R. Ihan

Ian Sloan President

5 April 2019