

## 1315<sup>th</sup> ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING AND OPEN LECTURE

## Wednesday 6 September 2023 at 6:30pm

via Zoom webinar

The 1315<sup>th</sup> Ordinary General Meeting of the Royal Society of NSW will take place at 6:30 pm on **Wednesday 6 September 2023 via Zoom webinar**, followed by an open lecture.

## AGENDA

1. WELCOME – President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN

## 2. MINUTES

Minutes of the 1314<sup>th</sup> Ordinary General Meeting will be reviewed at the next face-to-face OGM on Wednesday 4 October 2023.

## 3. CONFIRMATION OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

The Fellows and Members Assessment Committee meets between Council meetings and makes recommendations to Council for the election of Fellows and Members. These are circulated to Councillors prior to the Council meeting, with sufficient time for Councillors to assess the nominations. If no valid objections are received from Councillors, they are proposed to Members for consideration at the next OGM.

The Council proposes the following candidates for admission to the Society:

## **FELLOWSHIP**

## Professor Ben Colagiuri

Laudation - Ben Colagiuri has made a significant contribution to the field of psychology through his studies of placebo and nacebo effects.

## Andrew Thomas Condon

Laudation - Alan Condon has made a significant contribution to public service in the fields of defence, welfare and aged care.

## Associate Professor Amy Katherine Cain

Laudation - Amy Cain has an international reputation in microbiology through the study of antibiotic resistance.

## Professor Julianne Schultz

Laudation - Julianne Schultz is a writer and researcher in media and cultural studies who has made a major contribution to public cultural discourse.

## Professor Si Ming Man

Laudation - Si Ming Man is internationally recognised for his work in on the immune system, infectious diseases and the development of cancer and other chronic diseases.

## Professor Steven James Langford

Laudation - Steven Langford has made a significant contribution to the field of chemistry through his work in organic chemistry.

#### **Professor Ainsley Newson**

Laudation - Ainsley Newson is internationally recognised in the field of bioethics through her work on genomics and reproduction.

#### **Professor Christopher F Sharpley**

Laudation - Christopher Shapely has made a substantial contribution to teaching and research in biomedicine.

## Steven James Miller

Laudation - Steven Miller is a professional archivist and writer who has made a major contribution to the archiving of Australian visual art.

#### Professor Vicki F Bitsika

Laudation - Vicki Bitsika has made a major contribution to the welfare of autistic children and translates her clinical practice into university teaching and research.

#### Elaine Sadler

Laudation - Elaine Sadler has an international reputation in the fields of astrophysics and galaxy evolution.

#### **Rosalind Croucher**

Laudation - Through her public service, Roslalind Croucher has made a significant contribution to the fields of human rights, law reform and higher education.

#### **Catherine Greenhill**

Laudation - Catherine Greenhill is a leading Australian research mathematician, with special expertise in random graphs, combinatorics and discrete mathematics.

#### Alaina Ammit

Laudation - Alaina Ammit is internationally recognised in the field of medical research through her work on inflammation and chronic lung conditions.

#### Kim Lovegrove

Laudation - Kim Lovegrove has made a significant contribution to regulatory reform through his service to the law and the building sector.

#### MEMBERSHIP

Brian William Bell Micheal Daniel Lynch Selena Griffith Robert Anton Fabian Ed Matzenik Tracy Victoria Ryan Susan Bazzana Dr Zamira Gibb Dr Rachel Clare Fitzhardinge Michael Hedger Christopher Fellows Dyone Bettega

ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP Lorraine Pountney Luke Hall Rebel Bailey Benjamin Chidiac

## 4. PRESENTATION OF FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATES

There are no certificates to be presented at this meeting.

Royal Society of NSW Ordinary General Meeting – meeting notice of agenda...

# 5. NOTIFICATION OF ELECTION OF DISTINGUISHED FELLOW

At the its last meeting, the Council unanimously elected a new Distinguished Fellow. The name will be announced at this OGM.

## 6. REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President will report on matters dealt with by the Council and Committees since last OGM.

## 7. QUESTIONS

8. OPEN LECTURE

## "Challenges for Open Enquiry and Scholarship in a Divided Age"

## **Professor Alan Davison**

## Professor and Dean Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences University of Technology Sydney

Summary: Are the current settings within the "ecosystem" of academia – career incentives, and the pressures of social media and public discourse – optimal for generating the best research? In this talk, Alan Davison will outline some of the key drivers in our current academic environment and public discourse that are inimical to genuine research innovation and deep inquiry, how some disciplines are seeking to redress this (such as in the US with the Society for Open Inquiry in the Behavioural Sciences - SOIBS), and what might be done here in Australia.

## About the Speaker

Professor Alan Davison is Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, University of Technology Sydney. His research interests cover music and visual culture, art and aesthetics, celebrity studies, and 19th-century European cultural history. More recently he has actively promoted viewpoint diversity within our academic communities (as the lead for Heterodox Academy in Australia), and published both scholarly and popular articles on trends in social sciences and humanities research. In late 2021 Alan partnered with well-known media figure Josh Szeps to launch the "Permission to Think" speaker series, which invites prominent scholars to look at the role of intellectuals and institutions during this age of outrage in public debate of complex issues, especially in the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (HASS) disciplines. To date, guests in the series have included the likes of Jon Haidt and Alice Dreger.

# 9. VOTE OF THANKS

10. CLOSE - President

# Dr Donald Hector AM FRSN

Secretary