

1313th Ordinary General Meeting of The Royal Society of NSW

Minutes

Gallery Room, State Library of NSW, 6.30 pm, Wednesday 7 June 2023.

There were 30 Members, Fellows and guests in attendance.

1. WELCOME

The President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN presided at the meeting. She welcomed Members and guests and gave an acknowledgement of country. She asked that Members consider nominating candidates who reflect diverse backgrounds and experiences across NSW for membership of the Society.

2. MINUTES OF THE 1312TH ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 05 APRIL 2023

The Minutes of the previous Ordinary General Meeting, circulated previously, were approved.

3. ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

At its meeting 08 May 2023 the Council, upon recommendation of the Fellows and Members Assessment Committee, resolved to propose the following candidates for admission as Fellows and Members.

FELLOWSHIP

The Council recommended that the following individuals be admitted to Fellowship:

Professor Les Copeland

Laudation - Les Copeland has an international reputation in the field of agriculture and food science.

Professor Bing Jie Ni

Laudation - Bing Jie Ni has made a substantial contribution to environmental engineering where he has developed innovative approaches to pollutant removal from waste/water.

Professor Roger Reddel

Laudation - In the field of oncology, Roger Reddel has made a significant contribution through his discoveries in molecular biology.

Professor Renae Ryan

Laudation - Renae Ryan has made a substantial international contribution to neurological disease through her work on membrane protein structure and neurotransmitter transporters.

The Hon Gabrielle Upton

Laudation – Gabrielle Upton has made a significant contribution to the law, politics and the Higher Education sector in New South Wales.

Dr Alan Williams

Laudation - Alan Williams has made a significant contribution to the understanding of Australia's past human societies and climate change.

MEMBERSHIP

The Council recommended that the following individuals be admitted to Membership:

Ms Tina Katherine Allen Professor Trevor Brown Dr Andrea Coda Ms Ann Fieldhouse Mr Andrew Kenneth Bruce Mortimer Ms Patricia Kay Philip Mr Craig Russell Symes

If no valid objections are received from Members within two weeks of the OGM, the election of the new Fellows and Members takes effect from the date of this meeting.

4. PRESENTATION OF FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATES

At the OGM held on Wednesday 5 April 2023, the following candidates were proposed by the Council for admission to the Society. As no valid objections were received from members within two weeks of the that meeting (that is, by 6.30pm on 19 April 2023), their admission was confirmed with effect from the date of the OGM.

Fellowship

Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Anne Ashburn FRSN
Professor Roy Gary Beran FRSN
Dr Joseph John Brophy FRSN
Professor Conal Stratford Condren FRSN
Professor Marcel Eduard Dinger FRSN
Mr Lionel Etheridge FRSN
Associate Professor Kalinda Griffiths FRSN
Professor Anthony John Mills FRSN
Professor Bernard Alexander Pailthorpe FRSN
Professor Prem Ramburuth FRSN
Professor Maree Rose Teesson FRSN
Professor Brian Uy FRSN
Mr Robyn Williams FRSN

Membership

Dr Matthew Broome MRSN Dr Sam Lin MRSN Dr Elizabeth Killen MRSN

Associate Membership

Mr Shankar Dutt (Jak Kelly Award) Miss Clara Chung Ming Liu (Scholarship Winner) Mr Thomas Mesaglio (Scholarship Winner Miss Anyang Zhao (Scholarship Winner)

The President presented membership certificates to those present at this evening's meeting.

4 REPORTS FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President reported on the following matters.

The Council is undertaking a substantial consultation and master planning process to determine the future of the Society over the next decade. Initially, there will be a survey to canvass the membership's views on ensuring that the Society that it remains relevant to the needs and aspirations of the membership and broader community and how it can appeal to a more diverse and inclusive membership. The second step will be preparation of a Green Paper that will be circulated to members for input and consultation. Feedback from the Green Paper will be used to finalise the master plan that will be presented as a White Paper. It is expected that this process will be completed before the end of this year. The Council encourages all members, particularly younger members to engage in the process so that we can steer the Society in the direction to give maximum impact over the next decade.

The President noted that advertising has commenced for a Communications Officer and asked members to encourage interested candidates to apply.

Ideas@theHouse, the program presented by the Governor and Vice-Regal Patron of the Society will take place at Government House, Sydney, on Wednesday 14 June. The event will be live-streamed.

The speaker will be Australia's Chief Scientist, Dr Cathy Foley AO PSM DistFRSN FAA FTSE. She will discuss the topic, "Importance of scientific ideas and discovery to Australia's future".

5 QUESTIONS

There were no questions from the floor.

6 OPEN LECTURE

Making rights a reality — the need for a Human Rights Act for Australia

Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM FAAL President, Australian Human Rights Commission

Summary

This presentation advanced the case for a Human Rights Act for Australia, reflecting on experiences during COVID and the difference a Human Rights Act may have made and where it has helped in places where a human rights lens is legislated for decision and policy making.

Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM FACLM (Hon) FAAL TEP commenced a seven-year term as President of the Australian Human Rights Commission on 30 July 2017. Prior to joining the Commission, Rosalind was President of the Australian Law Reform Commission (2009–2017) and Commissioner (2006–2009), where she led several significant law reform inquiries. She has lectured and published extensively, principally in the fields of equity, trusts, property, inheritance, legal history, and increasingly in public policy. In 2011, she was recognised as one of the 40 'inspirational alumni' of UNSW, where she gained her PhD. In 2014, Croucher was acknowledged for her contributions to public policy as one of Australia's '100 Women of Influence' in the Australian Financial Review and Westpac awards; and for her 'outstanding contribution to the legal profession' was awarded the Australian Women Lawyer's award. In 2015, she was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for 'significant service to the law as an academic, to legal reform and education, to professional development, and to the arts', and in 2016 Macquarie University conferred on her the title of Emeritus Professor.

7 VOTE OF THANKS

The vote of thanks was given by Professor Christina Slade.

8 CLOSE

The President closed the meeting at 7.58pm.

The minutes were recorded by the Secretary, Dr Donald Hector AM FRSN.

Signed as a true record Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN President