

1313th ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING AND OPEN LECTURE

WEDNESDAY 7 JUNE 2023

GALLERY ROOM, STATE LIBRARY OF NSW (enter from Shakespeare Place)

AGENDA

1. WELCOME - President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN

2. MINUTES

Minutes of the 1312th Ordinary General Meeting held on 05 April 2023.

3. CONFIRMATION OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

The Fellows and Members Assessment Committee meets between Council meetings and makes recommendations to Council for the election of Fellows and Members. These are circulated to Councillors prior to the Council meeting, with sufficient time for Councillors to assess the nominations. If no valid objections are received from Councillors, they are proposed to Members for consideration at the next OGM. If no valid objections are received from Members within two weeks of the OGM, the election of the new Fellows and Members takes effect from the date of the meeting.

FELLOWSHIP

The Council recommends that the following individuals be admitted to Fellowship:

Professor Les Copeland

Laudation - Les Copeland has an international reputation in the field of agriculture and food science.

Professor Bing Jie Ni

Laudation - Bing Jie Ni has made a substantial contribution to environmental engineering where he has developed innovative approaches to pollutant removal from waste/water.

Professor Roger Reddel

Laudation - In the field of oncology, Roger Reddel has made a significant contribution through his discoveries in molecular biology.

Professor Renae Ryan

Laudation - Renae Ryan has made a substantial international contribution to neurological disease through her work on membrane protein structure and neurotransmitter transporters.

Ms Gabrielle Upton

Laudation – Gabrielle Upton has made a significant contribution to the law, politics and the Higher Education sector in New South Wales.

Mr Robyn Williams

Laudation - Robyn Williams has made an outstanding contribution to science communication, most notably through public radio.

Dr Alan Williams

Laudation - Alan Williams has made a significant contribution to the understanding of Australia's past human societies and climate change.

MEMBERSHIP

The Council recommends that the following individuals be admitted to Membership:

Ms Tina Katherine Allen Professor Trevor Brown Dr Andrea Coda Ms Ann Fieldhouse Mr Andrew Kenneth Bruce Mortimer Ms Patricia Kay Philip Mr Craig Russell Symes

4. PRESENTATION OF FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATES

President will present Certificates to new Fellows and Members.

5. REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President will report on matters from the Council Meeting held on 8 May 2023.

7. QUESTIONS

8. OPEN LECTURE

Making rights a reality — the need for a Human Rights Act for Australia

Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM FAAL President, Australian Human Rights Commission

Summary

This presentation advances the case for a Human Rights Act for Australia, reflecting on experiences during COVID and the difference a Human Rights Act may have made and where it has helped in places where a human rights lens is legislated for decision and policy making.

Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM FACLM (Hon) FAAL TEP commenced a seven-year term as President of the Australian Human Rights Commission on 30 July 2017. Prior to joining the Commission, Rosalind was President of the Australian Law Reform Commission (2009–2017) and Commissioner (2006–2009), where she led several significant law reform inquiries. She has lectured and published extensively, principally in the fields of equity, trusts, property, inheritance, legal history, and increasingly in public policy. In 2011, she was recognised as one of the 40 'inspirational alumni' of UNSW, where she gained her PhD. In 2014, Croucher was acknowledged for her contributions to public policy as one of Australia's '100 Women of Influence' in the Australian Financial Review and Westpac awards; and for her 'outstanding contribution to the legal profession' was awarded the Australian Women Lawyer's award. In 2015, she was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for 'significant service to the law as an academic, to legal reform and education, to professional development, and to the arts', and in 2016 Macquarie University conferred on her the title of Emeritus Professor.

9. VOTE OF THANKS

10. CLOSE - President