

1312th Ordinary General Meeting of The Royal Society of NSW

Minutes

Gallery Room, State Library of NSW, 6.30 pm, Wednesday 5 April 2023.

There were 40 Members, Fellows and guests in attendance.

1. WELCOME

The President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN presided at the meeting. She welcomed members and guests and gave an acknowledgement of country. She referred to the Society's Diversity and Inclusion Policy and asked that members consider nominating candidates who reflect diverse backgrounds and experiences across NSW for membership of the Society.

2. MINUTES OF THE 1311TH ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 15 MARCH 2023

The Minutes of the previous Ordinary General Meeting, circulated previously, were approved.

3. ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

At its meeting on 6 February 2023, the Fellows and Members Assessment Committee made the following recommendations for Fellowship and membership. These recommendations were approved by Council and tabled at the OGM held on 15 March 2023.

As no valid objections were received from members within two weeks of the that meeting (that is, by 6.30pm on 29 March 2023), the election of the following new Fellows, Members and Associate Members took effect from 15 March 2023. The President presented membership certificates to those present.

FELLOWSHIP

Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Anne Ashburn
Professor Roy Gary Beran
Dr Joseph John Brophy
Professor Conal Stratford Condren
Professor Marcel Eduard Dinger
Mr Lionel Etheridge
Associate Professor Kalinda Griffiths
Professor Anthony John Mills
Professor Bernard Alexander Pailthorpe
Professor Prem Ramburuth
Professor Maree Rose Teesson
Professor Brian Uy
Mr Robyn Williams

MEMBERSHIP

Dr Matthew Broome Dr Sam Lin Dr Elizabeth Killen

ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP

Mr Shankar Dutt (Jak Kelly Award) Miss Clara Chung Ming Liu (Scholarship Winner) Mr Thomas Mesaglio (Scholarship Winner Miss Anyang Zhao (Scholarship Winner)

4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President reported on the following matters.

- As announced at the annual dinner on 10 March, the President confirmed that the 2022
 Awards Committee of Council (Chair: Philip Gale; Secretary: Jessica Milner Davis) has
 completed its work in reviewing the awards and extending the portfolio to recognise
 excellence across a wider range of disciplines and career stages. It introduces two
 new medals:
 - a medal for Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander scholars; and
 - o the Ida Brown Early Career Medal

Also, there will be new awards for social and behavioural sciences, humanities, philosophy and law, creative arts and/or performance and interdisciplinary research. Information may be found on the Awards page of the Society's website. Nominations will open on 1 July and close on 30 September.

5 QUESTIONS

There were no questions from the floor.

6 THE CLARKE MEDAL MEMORIAL LECTURE

The Clarke Memorial Lecture was delivered by Prof Dietmar Muller, the winner of the 2019 Clarke Medal. The lectureship was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Professor Muller took the audience on a journey through geological time, reconstructing ancient oceans that have little resemblance to the oceans we know today. He used modern maps to reconstruct marine biodiversity as we know it today and highlighted the risks ahead for biodiversity hotspots.

The Clarke Medal is the Society's oldest award. It is named in memory of the Reverend William Branwhite Clarke and the field in which he worked. Clarke was an eminent geologist and important figure in the foundation of the Royal Society of New South Wales. The Clarke Medal made the Society the first learned society in Australia to reward scientific achievement.

Professor Dietmar Muller, is a geophysicist at the University of Sydney. His primary research focus is the physical fabric of the world and how it has evolved over more than a billion years, reaching back to a time when life as we know it did not exist. In one of his most cited projects, Dietmar and his team used big data analysis to build the first digital map of the age of the world's ocean floor. His lecture was entitled "Reconstructing Ancient Oceans, Sea-Level Fluctuations, the Deep Carbon Cycle and Biodiversity".

The President presented Professor Muller with the 2019 Clarke Medal.

7 VOTE OF THANKS

The vote of thanks was given by Professor Christina Slade.

8 CLOSE

The President closed the meeting at 7.58pm.