

Minutes of the 1311th Ordinary General Meeting of The Royal Society of New South Wales held by Zoom technology on Wednesday 15 March 2023 at 6.30PM.

There were 28 Members, Fellows and guests in attendance.

1. WELCOME

The President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN presided at the meeting. She welcomed members and guests and gave an acknowledgement of country. She also referred to the Society's Diversity and Inclusion Policy and asked that members consider nominating candidates for membership of the Society who reflect diverse backgrounds and experiences across NSW.

2. MINUTES OF THE 1310TH ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 1 FEBRUARY 2023

The Minutes of the previous Ordinary General Meeting, previously circulated, were approved.

3. ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

At its meeting on 6 February 2023, the Fellows and Members Assessment Committee made the following recommendations for Fellowship and membership. These recommendations were circulated to Councillors on 6 February.

If no valid objections are received from members within two weeks of this meeting, that is by 6.30pm on 29 March 2023, the election of the following new Fellows, Members and Associate Members will take effect from the date of this meeting, that is 15 March 2023.

The nominations for Associate Members listed below are winners of the Jak Kelly Award and the RSNSW Scholarships for 2022. They are automatically given a year of Associate Membership as part of their Award.

FELLOWSHIP

Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Anne Ashburn Professor Roy Gary Beran Dr Joseph John Brophy Professor Conal Stratford Condren Professor Marcel Eduard Dinger Mr Lionel Etheridge Associate Professor Kalinda Griffiths Professor Anthony John Mills Professor Bernard Alexander Pailthorpe Professor Prem Ramburuth Professor Maree Rose Teesson Professor Brian Uy Mr Robyn Williams

MEMBERSHIP

Dr Matthew Broome Dr Sam Lin Dr Elizabeth Killen

ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP

Mr Shankar Dutt (Jak Kelly Award) Miss Clara Chung Ming Liu (Scholarship Winner) Mr Thomas Mesaglio (Scholarship Winner Miss Anyang Zhao (Scholarship Winner)

4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President reported on the following matters.

- The Annual General Meeting would be held on 5 April. Voting for confirmation of the 2022 Annual General Meeting minutes, presentation of the 2022 Annual Report, election of the auditor for 2023, and the election of Council members opened at noon on 13 March and would close at noon on 3 April.
- The Annual General Meeting would be followed immediately by the 1311th Ordinary General Meeting at which the 2019 Clarke Lecture would be given by Professor Dietmar Müller.
- The Hunter Branch was holding its Annual General Meeting on 16 March with the topic *From Floods to drought? What might this year bring and what is causing these extremes?* to be presented by Dr Danielle Verdon-Kidd Associate Professor, Environmental and Life Sciences, University of Newcastle.
- The Southern Highlands Branch was holding a meeting on 16 March with the topic *The Kindness Revolution* to be given by Hugh Mackay.
- The Four Societies Lecture would be held on 21 March with the topic *Energy in Germany and Europe 2022 and beyond* to be given by Franziska Teichmann, Head, German Secretariat for Energy Cooperation with Australia and New Zealand
- Frontiers in Science Forum would be held on 24 March and would discuss exploring major discoveries and theories in physics, mathematics, biology and chemistry.

5 QUESTIONS

There were no questions.

6 THE EVENING'S PRESENTATIONS

The evening's presentations comprised four short talks presented by PhD candidates who have been awarded the Royal Society of New South Wales Jak Kelly Award or Scholarships for 2022.

Mr Shankar Dutt (Jak Kelly Award) Sensing one molecule at a time: A pathway to personalized healthcare and early detection of Alzheimer's and MS

Miss Clara Cung Ming Liu (Scholarship Winner) A novel hope for heart failure patients using bioengineered heart tissues

Mr Thomas Mesaglio (Scholarship Winner) Say cheese-tree!' Exploring Australia's vascular plant photographic record

Mr Anyang Zhao (Scholarship winner) *The molecular mechanism of* Listeria ivanovii-*induced inflammasome activation*

7 VOTE OF THANKS

The vote of thanks was given by Professor Steven Weller.

8 CLOSE

The President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN closed the meeting at 7.58pm.