

Minutes of the 1303<sup>rd</sup> Ordinary General Meeting of The Royal Society of New South Wales held in the Gallery Room, State Library of New South Wales on Wednesday 1 June 2022 at 6.00PM.

There were 40 Members, Fellows and guests in attendance.

#### 1. WELCOME

President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN presided at the meeting. She welcomed members and guests and gave an acknowledgement of country. She also referred to the Society's Diversity and Inclusion Policy and asked that members consider nominating female candidates and those from diverse backgrounds for membership of the Society.

## 2. MINUTES of the 1302<sup>nd</sup> Ordinary General Meeting held on 6 April 2022

The Minutes of the previous Ordinary General Meeting, previously circulated, were approved.

## 3. CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP

As no valid objection was lodged within two weeks following the 1302<sup>nd</sup> Ordinary General Meeting, the election of the following new Member took effect from the date of that meeting held on 6 April 2022.

#### 3.1 Member

Mr Jeffrey Styles

## 4 ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

At its meeting on 5 April 2022, the Fellows and Members Assessment Committee made the following recommendations for Fellowship. These recommendations were circulated to Councillors on 10 April. No valid objections were received from Councillors. If no valid objections are received from members within two weeks of this meeting, that is, by 6.30pm on Wednesday 15 June 2022, the election of the following new Fellows, Member and Associate Member takes effect from the date of this meeting.

#### 4.1 Fellows

Professor Lisa Adkins
Professor Julie Cairney
Dr Geoffrey Cohn
Professor Robyn Dowling
Professor Michelle Leishman
Professor Anna Reid
Professor Moninya Roughan
Professor Rathan Subramaniam

#### 4.2 Member

Mr Zile Yu

#### 4.3 Associate Member

Mr Keval Gandhi

#### 5 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President advised that Council held its first face-to-face meeting in two years on 18 May. Four Council members elected in April for a two-year term, Professors Sean Brawley and Philip Gale, Ms Pamela Griffith and Emeritus Professor Robert Marks were welcomed. The Council elected Professor Katherine Belov to the Executive Committee for 2022 and approved the membership of all Council Committees as recorded now on the Society's website. Council also approved the establishment of the RSNSW Bicentennial Scholarships to be offered to higher degree students in NSW and the ACT for research in any academic field. She said the Society has a long tradition of encouraging and supporting young researchers in NSW. The purpose in creating these new scholarships is to inspire continued learning that will shape the future of Australia.

#### 6 QUESTIONS

There were no questions.

### 7 THIS EVENING'S PRESENTATION

# FEDERALISM, BORDERS AND NATIONAL CABINET — WHAT HAS THE PANDEMIC TAUGHT US?

Professor Anne Twomey AO Professor of Constitutional Law, Sydney Law School, University of Sydney

**Anne Twomey** is a Professor of Constitutional Law at the University of Sydney. She has previously worked for the High Court, the Senate Legal and Constitutional Committee, and the Cabinet Office of New South Wales. She has had practical experience in the operation of federalism, when working for the NSW Government, and has written extensively on federalism in the academic sphere.

Professor Twomey discussed who is responsible for matters such as State border closures, quarantine and vaccine mandates, and what the Constitution has to say about it. The operation of a federal system in a national crisis, such as a pandemic, can cause confusion, but also reap benefits. The National Cabinet was supposed to provide national coordination while still allowing each State to deal with the different circumstances it faced. She discussed whether it succeeded, or if it is just a mechanism for spreading a cloak of secrecy over government operations.

There followed a question and answer session moderated by the the Program Committee Chair, Christina Slade.

#### **8 VOTE OF THANKS**

The vote of thanks was given by Vice-President Judith Wheeldon.

#### 9 CLOSE

Dr Pond closed the meeting at 7.45pm.