

# Minutes of the 1301<sup>st</sup> Ordinary General Meeting of The Royal Society of New South Wales held by ZOOM Webinar on Wednesday 2 March 2022 at 6.30PM.

There were 33 Members, Fellows and guests in attendance.

# 1. WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN presided at the meeting. She welcomed members and guests and gave an acknowledgement of country. She also referred to the Society's Diversity and Inclusion Policy and asked that members consider nominating female candidates and those from diverse backgrounds for membership of the Society.

## 1.1 Minutes of the 1300<sup>th</sup> Ordinary General Meeting held on 2 February 2022

The Minutes of the previous Ordinary General Meeting, previously circulated, were approved.

## 2 CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP

As no valid objection was lodged within two weeks following the 1300<sup>th</sup> Ordinary General Meeting, the election of the following new Fellows and Members took effect from the date of that meeting held on 02 February 2022.

## 2.1 Fellows

Professor Mark Griffith Evans Dr Peter Keegan Professor Charles James Lemckert Professor Deborah Lupton Mr David John van Nunen Professor Alistair Gary Beresford Poore Ms Judith Maree Rae

## 2.2 Members

Ms Wendy Enevoldsen Dr Michael Tran

#### 2.3 Associate Members

Mr Kevin (The Huong) Chau Mr Harry Marquis Mx Zain Mehdi Mr Sajad Abolpour Moshizi

#### 3 ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

#### 3.1 Fellows

At its meeting on 8 February 2022, the Fellows and Members Assessment Committee made the following recommendations for Fellowship. These recommendations were circulated to Councillors following the meeting on 10 February. If no objections are received from members within two weeks of this meeting, that is, by 6.30pm on Wednesday 16 March 2022, the election of the following new Fellows, Members and Associate Members will take effect from the date of this meeting, 2 March 2022.

Professor Igor Aharonovich Professor Clive Baldock Professor Anthony Cunningham Professor Roy Green Professor Renee Elmina Leon Dr Tuan Van Nguyen Dr James Renwick Professor Shawn Ross

The next meeting of the Committee is scheduled for 5 April 2022.

#### 3.2 Members

Dr Holly Randell-Moon Dr Diana Wyndham

#### 3.3 Associate Members

Mr Cory Thomas

#### 4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President drew members' attention to The <u>Bulletin 460</u> issued on 01 March 2022 and the new service for members to make their works known through the <u>RSNSW</u> <u>Book Catalogue</u>.

#### 5 QUESTIONS

There were no questions sent to the President in advance.

#### 6 THIS EVENING'S PRESENTATION

The evening's presentations were given by the winner of the 2021 Jak Kelly Award and the three winners of the 2021 Royal Society of NSW Scholarships.

Please click on the links below for a summary of the presentations and a short biography of the speakers.

<u>Mx Zain Mehdi</u> (Jak Kelly Award) — *Bigger than atoms, smaller than cheese: probing the mesoscopic world with table-top experiments* 

There followed a question-and-answer session moderated by Professor Steven Weller.

<u>Mr Sajad Abolpour Moshizi</u> (Scholarship Winner) — *Development of a biomimetic vestibular system with miniaturized sensors to restore balance* 

<u>Mr Harry Marquis</u> (Scholarship Winner) — *Improved imaging for targeted radiation treatments in cancer patients* 

<u>Mr Kevin Chau</u> (Scholarship Winner) — *Decoding the platelet glycoproteome* 

There followed a question-and-answer session after the presentations moderated by Professor Katherine Belov.

# 7 VOTE OF THANKS

The vote of thanks was given by Ms Judith Wheeldon AM FRSN, Vice-President.

# 8 CLOSE

Dr Pond closed the meeting at 8.06pm