

1301ST ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

WEDNESDAY 2 MARCH 2022 AT 6.30PM

By **ZOOM** Webinar

Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://zoom.us/j/99521457308

AGENDA

- 1. **WELCOME** President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN
- 1.1 Acknowledgement of Country
- 1.2 Diversity and Inclusion statement
- 1.3 Minutes of the 1300^h Ordinary General Meeting held on 2 February 2022
- 2. CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP

As no valid objection was lodged within two weeks following the 1300th Ordinary General Meeting, the election of the following new Fellows and Members took effect from the date of that meeting held on 2 February 2022.

2.1 Fellows

Professor Mark Griffith Evans
Dr Peter Keegan
Professor Charles James Lemckert
Professor Deborah Lupton
Mr David John van Nunen
Professor Alistair Gary Beresford Poore
Ms Judith Maree Rae

2.2 Members

Ms Wendy Enevoldsen Dr Michael Tran

3.3 Associate Members

Mr Kevin (The Huong) Chau Mr Harry Marquis Mx Zain Mehdi Mr Sajad Abolpour Moshizi

3 ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

3.1 Fellows

At its meeting on 7 February 2022, the Fellows and Members Assessment Committee made the following recommendations for Fellowship. These recommendations were circulated to Councillors on 10 February. If no valid objections are received, the election of the following new Fellows will take effect from the date of this meeting, that is 2 March 2022.

Professor Igor Aharonovich
Professor Clive Baldock
Professor Anthony Cunningham
Professor Roy Green
Professor Renee Elmina Leon
Dr Tuan Van Nguyen
Dr James Renwick
Professor Shawn Ross

The next meeting of the Committee is scheduled for 5 April 2022.

3.2 Members

Dr Holly Eva Katherine Randell-Moon Dr Diana Wyndham

3.3 Associate Members

Mr Cory Thomas

4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President will provide a verbal report on matters emanating from the February 2022 Executive Committee meeting.

5 QUESTIONS

Questions can be sent to the President in advance to president@royalsoc.org.au

6 THIS EVENING'S PRESENTATIONS

This evening's presentations comprise four short talks presented by PhD and Master of Research candidates who have been awarded the RSNSW Jak Kelly Award or Scholarships for 2021. Follow the links to read a summary of each presentation and a brief biography of the presenter.

Mx Zain Mehdi (Jak Kelly Award) — Bigger than atoms, smaller than cheese: probing the mesoscopic world with table-top experiments

Mr Sajad Abolpour Moshizi (Scholarship Winner) — Development of a biomimetic vestibular system with miniaturized sensors to restore balance

Mr Harry Marquis (Scholarship Winner) — Improved imaging for targeted radiation treatments in cancer patients

Mr Kevin Chau (Scholarship Winner) — Decoding the platelet glycoproteome

7 VOTE OF THANKS

8 CLOSE – President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN