

# 1300<sup>TH</sup> ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING WEDNESDAY 2 FEBRUARY 2022 AT 6.30PM By ZOOM Webinar

Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://zoom.us/i/96850844511

#### **AGENDA**

- 1. WELCOME President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN
- 1.1 Apologies

Dr Jessica Milner Davis

- 1.2 Acknowledgement of Country
- 1.3 Diversity and Inclusion statement
- 1.4 Minutes of the 1299th Ordinary General Meeting held on 1 December 2021
- 2. CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP

As no valid objection was lodged within two weeks following the 1299<sup>th</sup> Ordinary General Meeting, the election of the following new Fellows and Members took effect from the date of that meeting held on 1 December 2021.

#### 2.1 Fellows

Professor Simon Ho
Professor Jennifer Louise Martin
Professor Robert A. Minasian
Associate Professor Alice Elizabeth Motion
Professor Louis Michael Rendina
Honorary Professor Graham Edward Town
Scientia Professor Toby Walsh

#### 2.2 Members

Mr Benjamin Fry Mr Michael Atkinson Ms Alice O'Keefe Dr Michelle Humphries Mr Nicholas Raphael

### 3 ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

#### 3.1 Fellows

At its meeting on 7 December 2021, the Fellows and Members Assessment Committee made the following recommendations for Fellowship. These recommendations have been circulated to Councillors following the meeting who have until 24 January 2022 to lodge an objection. If no objections are received, the election of the following new Fellows will take effect from the date of this meeting, 2 February 2022.

Professor Mark Griffith Evans
Dr Peter Keegan
Professor Charles James Lemckert
Professor Deborah Lupton
Mr David John van Nunen
Professor Alistair Gary Beresford Poore
Ms Judith Maree Rae

The next meeting of the Committee is scheduled for 8 February 2022.

#### 3.2 Members

Ms Wendy Enevoldsen Dr Michael Tran

#### 3.3 Associate Members

Mr Kevin (The Huong) Chau Mr Harry Marquis Mx Zain Mehdi Mr Sajad Abolpour Moshizi

#### 4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The President will provide a verbal report on matters emanating from the January 2022 Council meeting including the election of announcement of the recipients of the Society's Awards for 2021.

#### 4.1 Election to Council

A vacancy on Council occurred on 30 September 2021 with the resignation of The Honourable Virginia Judge FRSN

Rule 18(j) states as follows:

'Any vacant Office Bearer or Council position may be filled for the balance of the term by election at a Council Meeting. Members or Fellows of the Society shall be notified of the result at the first Ordinary General Meeting following such action.'

Accordingly, at the Council meeting held on 19 January 2021 Council

#### **RESOLVED:** that

Dr Jessica Milner Davis be elected to Council until the 2023 Annual General Meeting and that .her election be notified to members at the Ordinary General Meeting scheduled for 2 February 2022.

#### 4.2 Announcement of Awards for 2021

#### **Medals and Lectureships**

- The James Cook Medal for outstanding contributions to science and human welfare in and for the Southern Hemisphere. This medal is the Society's most prestigious award.
- The Clarke Medal and Lecture for distinguished research in the natural sciences conducted in Australia and its territories. The 2021 award is in the field of zoology.
- The Edgeworth David Medal for distinguished contributions by a young scientist under the age of thirty-five years, for work done mainly in Australia or its territories; or contributing to the advancement of Australian science.
- The History and Philosophy of Science Medal in recognition of outstanding achievement in the History and Philosophy of Science with preference being given to the study of ideas, institutions, and individuals of significance to the practice of the natural sciences in Australia.
- **The Warren Prize** awarded to recognise research of national or international significance by early- or mid-career engineers and technologists.
- The Poggendorff Lectureship awarded for research in plant biology and, more broadly, agriculture.
- The Pollock Memorial Lectureship awarded approximately every four years since in memory of Professor J.A. Pollock, Professor of Physics at the University of Sydney (1899-1922) and a member of the Society for 35 years.

#### Service Awards

• The Royal Society of New South Wales Citation – awarded to a Member or Fellow of the Society who has made significant contributions to the Society, but who has not been recognised in any other way.

#### **Student Awards and Scholarships**

- The Jak Kelly Award created in honour of Professor Jak Kelly (1928 2012) who
  was President of the Royal Society of NSW in 2005 and 2006. The Award
  encourages excellence in postgraduate research in physics. It is supported by the
  Royal Society of NSW and the Australian Institute of Physics, NSW branch. The
  winner is selected from a short list of candidates who made presentations at the most
  recent Australian Institute of Physics, NSW branch postgraduate awards event.
- The Royal Society of NSW Scholarships for 2021 awarded each year to acknowledge outstanding achievements by young researchers in any field of science.

#### 5 QUESTIONS

Questions can be sent to the President in advance, to president@royalsoc.org.au

#### 6 THIS EVENING'S PRESENTATION

#### WHERE NEXT FOR HIGHER EDUCATION AFTER COVID-19?

## Professor Mark Scott AO FRSN, Vice-Chancellor and Principal The University of Sydney

Professor Scott holds a Bachelor of Arts, a Diploma of Education, a Master of Arts (Political Science and Government), an Honorary Doctorate (Letters) and a Professorship of Practice (Education and Media) from the University of Sydney, as well as a Master of Public Administration from the John F Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

Professor Scott is a highly respected and successful senior leader of large and complex institutions, across public service, education and the media. Under his leadership as Secretary of the NSW Department of Education (2016 to 2021) the Department secured a record 10-year funding agreement for public schools, created School Infrastructure NSW to deliver an additional 160,000 classroom places and established the School Leadership Institute to train and develop aspiring school principals across the state.

His distinguished record of strategic leadership includes a decade as Managing Director of the ABC (2006 to 2016), where he led the organisation's transformation to be a public broadcaster in the digital era. Over that time, the ABC created new services like iview, News 24, ABC3 and digital radio; and expanded online and mobile services, such as podcasting and ABC News online.

Professor Scott has also held a number of senior editorial roles at Fairfax, including Education Editor of *The Sydney Morning Herald* and Editor-in-Chief of metropolitan, regional and community newspapers. His contribution to education reaches back to the start of his career, as a teacher in Sydney. He built on his interest in education with senior policy and leadership positions with two NSW education ministers. In 2011 he was named an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to media and communications, and to the community through advisory and governance roles with a range of social justice and educational bodies.

The COVID-19 pandemic forced dramatic changes to teaching, research and revenue sources for Australian universities. In this talk, Professor Mark Scott will discuss how the higher education sector can build on the lessons made in the past two years to deliver transformational teaching and learning, and support research that changes the world for good.

#### 7 VOTE OF THANKS

8 CLOSE – President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN