

Minutes of the 1292nd Ordinary General Meeting of The Royal Society of New South Wales held by ZOOM Webinar on Wednesday 7 April 2021 at 6.15PM.

There were 50 Members, Fellows and guests in attendance.

1. WELCOME

The President, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN presided at the meeting. She thanked and acknowledged Emeritus Professor Ian Sloan for his successful three-year tenure as President. During that time, the Society achieved substantial growth in the size and diversity of its membership and navigated the tumultuous months since the COVID-19 pandemic emerged in early 2020. She recorded the Society's gratitude on both a professional and personal level, noted that he has graciously agreed to continue in the role of Past President on Council for a year, and looked forward to the day when we have the opportunity to thank him in person.

1.1 Minutes of the 1291st Ordinary General Meeting held on 3 March 2021

The Minutes of the previous Ordinary General Meeting, previously circulated, were approved.

2. CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP

As no valid objection had been lodged within two weeks following the 1291st Ordinary General Meeting, the election of the following new Fellows and Members took effect from the date of that meeting held on 3 March.

2.1 Fellows

Professor Susan Nan Coppersmith Dr Malte Christian Ebach Professor Rebecca Quentin Ivers Emeritus Professor Gisela Kaplan Ms Kim Coral McKay Ms Samantha Doreen Meers Professor Michael John Ryan Mr Peter Schouten Professor Catherine Margaret Stampfl Dr Margaret Louise Varady Mr Albert Yue Ling Wong

2.2 Members and Associate Members

Members

Dr Shane Keating Mr Rory McKenzie Mr Peter Valtchev Reverend Chris Yates

Associate Members

Sajad Razavi Bazaz Matthew Donnelly Daniel Fox Philippa Specker

3. ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

3.1 Fellows

It was noted that the Fellows and Members Assessment Committee is scheduled to meet on Tuesday 13 April and that recommendations emanating from that meeting will be considered at the May OGM.

3.2 Members

It was noted that if no valid objection is lodged within two weeks of this Ordinary General Meeting, that is, by 6.30pm on 15 April 2021, the election of the following new Members will take effect from the date of the meeting.

Mr Andrew Buttfield Mrs Josephine Buttfield

4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The Council met on Wednesday 17 March 2021. The President drew members' attention to the following matters.

4.1 Citation

Members were advised that the retiring Treasurer Mr Richard Wilmott had been awarded a Royal Society of New South Wales Citation for his significant contribution to the financial affairs of the Society. The President thanked Mr Wilmott for his exemplary service to the Society.

4.2 Diversity and Inclusion Policy

It was noted, as required by the policy, that Council had accepted the review by the Executive Committee and approved the revised Diversity and Inclusion Policy.

4.3 Terms of reference for Council committees

Members noted that Council had approved the revised terms of reference for each of its committees which were now on the Society's website.

4.4 Annual report

Members noted that Council had adopted the Annual Report and Financial Statements for 2020.

4.5 Annual Forum

It was noted that Council had endorsed the addition of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences to the learned academy partners of the Annual Forum. The 2021 Annual Forum would be held on 4 November 2021 with the title *Power and Peril of the Digital Age.*

5 THIS EVENING'S PRESENTATION

"ANTARCTICA, THIS AIN'T NO MIRAGE: THE VALUE OF ART IN DISSEMINATING SCIENTIFIC INFORMATION"

Lea Kannar-Lichtenberger, contemporary artist

Lea Kannar-Lichtenberger is an Australian contemporary artist who disseminates her research and artistic vision, as an 'artist at large' by presenting her response and advocacy for environmental issues. Her investigations into evolution, contemporary society, and the impact of tourism on island environments has seen Lea do onsite examinations through immersive residencies or eco-tourism inquiries in; the South Shetland Islands specifically Deception Island (Antarctica) 2017, the Faroe Islands (The North Sea) 2015, the Galapagos Islands (Ecuador) 2014, Lord Howe Island (NSW Australia) 2014 & 2015 and in 2021 an Artist at Sea residency with the Schmidt Ocean Institute. Lea creates artworks and installations that examine a window into the impact of the Anthropocene and contemporary consumerism on the viewed utopian destination. Lea has disseminated this research and her unique perspective through lectures, paper presentations and peer reviewed journals.

Lea Kannar-Lichtenberger has exhibited widely including solo exhibitions at Edith Cowan University Western Australia, and Griffith University, Queensland, and group exhibitions including Sculpture by the Sea (Sydney and Cottesloe), the Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing and the Waterhouse Natural Science Art Prize. Internationally her work has been shown at the Venice Summer Academy, Stunning Edge Exhibition Taiwan, the New York Hall of Science, Galway International Arts Festival Ireland, the SVA (the School of Visual Arts) at the Flatiron Building in Manhattan and the NYABF at the MOMA annexe PS1, New York.

Lea Kannar-Lichtenberger explored just one of the islands she has investigated and, through her art, has raised awareness about the impact that contemporary society is having on these often-idealised environments. Using her time-based installations, photography and sculptures, along with her paintings and drawings, she explained how she works to make science more accessible to the community at large.

She discussed her trip to Antarctica in January 2017 and its unusualness not just because it was with a not-for-profit organisation but also as it was in many ways in the footsteps of the

adventurer explorer. This journey resulted in artworks and exhibitions that have been seen across Australia in universities and art galleries, with the goal to bring the plight of the remote into the lives of the everyday person.

There followed a question and answer session moderated by Emeritus Professor Christina Slade.

6 VOTE OF THANKS AND CLOSE

The vote of thanks was given by Emeritus Professor Bruce Milthorpe.

The meeting closed at 7.19pm.