

Minutes of the 1290th Ordinary General Meeting of The Royal Society of New South Wales held by ZOOM Webinar on Wednesday 3 February 2021 at 6.30PM.

There were 45 Members, Fellows and guests in attendance.

1. WELCOME

The President, Emeritus Professor Ian Sloan AO FRSN presided at the meeting and introduced the panel members. He welcomed members and guests and gave an acknowledgement of country. He also referred to the Society's Diversity and Inclusion Policy.

1.1 Minutes of the 1289th Ordinary General Meeting held on 8 December 2020

The Minutes of the previous Ordinary General Meeting, previously circulated, were approved.

2. CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP

As no valid objection was lodged within two weeks following the 1289th Ordinary General

Meeting, the election of the following new Fellows and Members took effect from the date of that meeting held on 9 December. Certificates will be presented at the first opportunity at a face-to-face meeting.

2.1 Fellows

Professor Noel Andrew Campbell Cressie

Professor Jason Peter Evans

Professor John Germov

Dr Saul Thomas Griffith

Professor Andrew Simon Killcross

Professor Johannes Paul Martin le Coutre

Professor Adam McCluskey

Dr David George Nash

Professor Paddy Nixon

Professor Jane Helen Simpson

Professor Dacheng Tao

Professor Franciscus Antonius Josephus Verstraten

Professor Albert Yousif Zomaya

2.2 Members

Mr Clive Baldock

Mr Joshua Bonsing

Mr John Michael Cameron

Mr Anthony Grey

Ms Cecelia Hannah Hibbert

Mr Barrie Hill

Mr Steven Patterson

Associate Professor Qilin Wang

3. ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

If no valid objection is lodged within two weeks of this Ordinary General Meeting, that is, by 6.30pm on 16 February 2021, the election of new Members will take effect from the date of the meeting.

3.1 Fellows

The Fellows and Members Assessment Committee is scheduled to meet on Tuesday 9 February. Any recommendations emanating from the meeting will be considered at the March OGM.

3.2 Members and Associate Members

Members

Associate Professor Michaelis Michael Dr Deborah Lewis

4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The Council is scheduled to meet on Thursday 4 February 2020. The President drew members' attention to the following matters.

4.1 Executive Officer

Ms Wendy Enevoldsen's contract had been renewed for 2021.

4.2 Events for 2021

The Events Committee met on 14 January. They have finalised an exciting OGM program and other events for the year. Members were reminded that the Society's website provided all the details.

4.3 Council election timetable

Nominations open: 15 February 2021

Nominations close: 5 March 2021 (open for 3 weeks)

Voting opens: 15 March 2021

Voting closes: 5 April 2021(open for 3 weeks)

AGM: 7 April 2021

4.4 The Royal Societies of Australia (RSA)

The RSA supports and promotes the work of Australia's Royal Societies, including the Royal Society of NSW. Its current focus is on offering a series of three webinars in February and March 2021 on 'Stewardship of Country' which will bring together expertise from geographers, economists, Indigenous Australians, pastoralists, botanists, zoologists, geologists and policy makers to try to forge a new direction in cross-discipline approaches to the sustainable improvement of Australia's landscapes. All members of the Royal Society of NSW will be invited to participate in this event. Registration will be via Eventbrite and this will be provided with further information shortly.

The RSA has also collaborated with Halstead Press to be able to offer a unique publication on the most important scientific figures in Australia from European settlement to the mid-twentieth century. This new work, *The Long Enlightenment* by Emeritus Professor Robert Clancy AM FRSN, is available for purchase through the RSA at a discounted rate for RSNSW members. The order form has been distributed to members via email.

5 THIS EVENING'S PRESENTATIONS

The evening's presentations were given by the winner of the 2020 Jak Kelly Award and the three winners of the 2020 Royal Society of NSW Scholarships.

Please click on the links below for a summary of the presentations and a short biography of the speakers.

Mr Matthew Donnelly (Jak Kelly Award winner) — UNSW (Sydney) Controlling how electrons move in silicon at the atomic scale.

Mr Sajad Razavi Bazaz (Scholarship Winner) — University of Technology Sydney 3D printed micro-engineered systems for life science research.

Mr Daniel Fox (Scholarship Winner) — Australian National University Molecular Mechanisms of Inflammasome Activation by Enterotoxins of the Foodborne Pathogen Bacillus cereus.

<u>Ms Philippa Specker</u> (Scholarship Winner) — UNSW (Sydney)\
Improving the treatment of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder in refugees: The important role of emotion regulation.

There followed a question and answer session after each presentation moderated by Professor Robert Clancy who also gave the vote of thanks and closed the meeting.

The meeting closed at 8.10pm.