

# 1290<sup>th</sup> ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

# WEDNESDAY 3 FEBRUARY 2021 AT 6.30PM

# By ZOOM Webinar

Please click the link below to join the webinar:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88421262527

# AGENDA

- 1. WELCOME President, Emeritus Professor Ian Sloan AO FRSN
- 1.1 Acknowledgement of country
- 1.2 Diversity and Inclusion statement
- 1.3 Minutes of the 1289<sup>th</sup> Ordinary General Meeting held on 9 December 2020

# 2. CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP

As no valid objection was lodged within two weeks following the 1289<sup>th</sup> Ordinary General Meeting, the election of the following new Fellows and Members took effect from the date of that meeting held on 9 December. Certificates will be presented at the first opportunity at a face-to-face meeting.

# 2.1 Fellows

Professor Noel Andrew Campbell Creesie Professor Jason Peter Evans Professor John Germov Dr Saul Thomas Griffith Professor Andrew Simon Killcross Professor Johannes Paul Martin le Coutre Professor Johannes Paul Martin le Coutre Professor Adam McCluskey Dr David George Nash Professor Paddy Nixon Professor Paddy Nixon Professor Jane Helen Simpson Professor Dacheng Tao Professor Franciscus Antonius Josephus Verstraten Professor Albert Yousif Zomaya

## 2.2 Members

Mr Clive Baldock Mr Joshua Bonsing Mr John Michael Cameron Mr Anthony Grey Ms Cecelia Hannah Hibbert Mr Barrie Hill Mr Steven Patterson Associate Professor Qilin Wang

# 3. ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR FELLOWSHIP AND MEMBERSHIP

If no valid objection is lodged within two weeks of this Ordinary General Meeting, that is, by 6.30pm on 16 February 2021, the election of new Members will take effect from the date of the meeting.

#### 3.1 Fellows

The Fellows and Members Assessment Committee is scheduled to meet on Tuesday 9 February. Any recommendations emanating from the meeting will be considered at the March OGM.

#### 3.2 Members and Associate Members

#### Members

Associate Professor Michaelis Michael Dr Deborah Lewis

# 4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

The Council is scheduled to meet on Thursday 4 February 2020. The President wishes to draw members' attention to the following matters.

# 4.1 Executive Officer

Ms Wendy Enevoldsen's contract has been renewed for 2021.

# 4.2 Events for 2021

The Events Committee met on 14 January. It is finalising an exciting OGM program and other events for the year. The Society's website provides all the details.

# 4.3 The Royal Societies of Australia (RSA)

The RSA supports and promotes the work of Australia's Royal Societies, including the Royal Society of NSW. Its current focus is on offering a series of three webinars in February and March 2021 on 'Stewardship of Country' which will bring together expertise from geographers, economists, Indigenous Australians, pastoralists, botanists, zoologists, geologists and policy makers to try to forge a new direction in cross-discipline approaches to the sustainable improvement of Australia's landscapes. All members of the Royal Society of NSW will be invited to participate in this event.

Registration will be via Eventbrite and this will be provided with further information shortly.

The RSA has also collaborated with Halstead Press to be able to offer a unique publication on the most important scientific figures in Australia from European settlement to the mid-twentieth century. This new work, *The Long Enlightenment* by Emeritus Professor Robert Clancy AM FRSN, is available for purchase through the RSA at a discounted rate for RSNSW members. The order form will be distributed to members via email.

## 5 THIS EVENING'S PRESENTATIONS

This evening's presentations will be given by the winner of the 2020 Jak Kelly Award and the three winners of the 2020 Royal Society of NSW Scholarships.

Please follow the links below to the Society's website for a summary of each of the presentations and a brief biography of the presenters.

<u>Mr Matthew Donnelly</u> (Jak Kelly Award winner) — UNSW (Sydney) Controlling how electrons move in silicon at the atomic scale.

<u>Mr Sajad Razavi Bazaz</u> (Scholarship Winner) — University of Technology Sydney 3D printed micro-engineered systems for life science research.

<u>Mr Daniel Fox</u> (Scholarship Winner) — Australian National University Molecular Mechanisms of Inflammasome Activation by Enterotoxins of the Foodborne Pathogen Bacillus cereus.

<u>Ms Philippa Specker</u> (Scholarship Winner) — UNSW (Sydney) Improving the treatment of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder in refugees: The important role of emotion regulation

## 6 VOTE OF THANKS AND CLOSE