

The Royal Society of New South Wales

"for the encouragement of studies and investigations in Science Art Literature and Philosophy"

1289th ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

WEDNESDAY 9 DECEMBER 2020 AT 6.30PM

By ZOOM Webinar

Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87576738805

AGENDA

- 1. WELCOME President, Emeritus Professor Ian Sloan AO FRSN
- 1.1 Acknowledgement of country
- 1.2 Diversity and Inclusion statement
- 1.3 Minutes of the 1288th Ordinary General Meeting held on 11 November 2020
- 2. CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP

As no valid objection was lodged within two weeks following the 1288th Ordinary General Meeting, the election of the following new Fellows and Members took effect from the date of that meeting held on 11 November. Certificates will be presented at the first opportunity at a face-to-face meeting.

2.1 Fellows

Professor Stephen Douglas Bartlett Professor Bernard Walter Balleine Professor Lewis Albert Bizo Professor Andrew William Blakers Dr Elizabeth Margaret Deane Dr Catherine Patricia Foley Emeritus Professor Bruce Ian Henry Professor Ian Bernard Hickie Professor Kourosh Kalantar-Zadeh **Professor Geraint Francis Lewis** Professor Jennifer Helen Martin Mr John McDonald Professor Mary-Louise McLaws Associate Professor Jill Maree Newby Prof Angela Marissa Nickerson Professor Martina Heide Stenzel

Professor Steven Ronald Weller Professor Thomas James Whitford Professor Jeremy Somers Wilson

2.2 Members

Dr Martin Fuechsle Mr Calvin Manjarres-Wahlberg Professor Janet Nelson Dr Rebecca Soffe Dr Lia Zambetti

3. ANNOUNCEMENT OF NAMES OF CANDIDATES FOR MEMBERSHIP

If no valid objection is lodged within two weeks of this Ordinary General Meeting, that is, by 6.30pm on 23 December 2020, the election of new Members and Fellows will take effect from the date of the meeting.

3.1 Members

Mr Clive Baldock
Mr Joshua Bonsing
Mr Anthony Grey
Ms Cecelia Hannah Hibbert
Mr Barrie Hill
Mr Steven Patterson

4 REPORT FROM COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

Council met on 18 November. The President wishes to bring to members' attention the following matters.

4.1 Executive Officer

Council approved the renewal of the contract of the Executive Officer, Ms Wendy Enevoldsen for 2021.

4.2 Distinguished Fellow

Sir Fraser Stoddart has accepted the invitation to become a Distinguished Fellow of the Society and has agreed to give a lecture when circumstances permit.

4.3 Announcement of Awards for 2020

The recipients of the Society's Awards for 2020 will be announced.

- The James Cook Medal for outstanding contributions to science and human welfare in and for the Southern Hemisphere. This medal is the Society's most prestigious award.
- **The Clarke Medal** for distinguished research in the natural sciences conducted in Australia and its territories. This year's award is in the field of biology.
- The Edgeworth David Medal for distinguished contributions by a young scientist under the age of thirty-five years, for work done mainly in Australia or its territories; or contributing to the advancement of Australian science.
- The History and Philosophy of Science Medal in recognition of outstanding achievement in the History and Philosophy of Science with preference being given to the study of ideas, institutions, and individuals of significance to the practice of the natural sciences in Australia.

- The Royal Society of New South Wales Medal awarded from time to time to a member of the Society who has made meritorious contributions to the Society's administration, organisation, and endeavours.
- The Royal Society of New South Wales Citation awarded to a Member or Fellow of the Society who has made significant contributions to the Society, but who has not been recognised in any other way.
- The Poggendorff Lecture awarded for research in plant biology and, more broadly, agriculture
- **The Liversidge Lecture** awarded biennially for research in chemistry. The lecture is presented in conjunction with the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI).
- The Jak Kelly Award created in honour of Professor Jak Kelly (1928 2012) who was President of the Royal Society of NSW in 2005 and 2006. The Award encourages excellence in postgraduate research in physics. It is supported by the Royal Society of NSW and the Australian Institute of Physics, NSW branch. The winner is selected from a short list of candidates who made presentations at the most recent Australian Institute of Physics, NSW branch postgraduate awards event.
- The Royal Society of NSW Scholarships for 2020 awarded each year to acknowledge outstanding achievements by young researchers in any field of science.

5 GENERAL BUSINESS

5.1 Revised Rules

As previously advised Council has undertaken a major revision of the Society's current Rules and By-laws in order to modernise them. This major exercise was greatly assisted by The Hon John Dowd FRSN, a former NSW Attorney-General. Under the current Rules and By-laws, the revised Rules require the approval of members.

Voting on the revised Rules commenced on Monday 26 October and closed on Monday 7 December allowing 6 weeks for members to vote. Reminders were sent on 16 November, 30 November and 6 December. Members were asked to vote on the following motion by selecting exactly 1 of 2 options or choosing 'abstain' to vote for none of the options.

MOTION:

The Royal Society of NSW adopts the revised Rules, as published on the Society's website.

The current Rule 27(c) states *inter alia* "The vote shall be valid if at least twenty (20) valid votes are received. The proposed alteration or addition shall be adopted if at least seventy-five percent (75%) of the valid votes support the motion."

The President will announce the voting results.

6 THIS EVENING'S PRESENTATION

DISPELLING CLIMATE CHANGE MYTHS—HOW OCEAN PHYSICS CAN HELP EXPLAIN SURPRISES IN THE MODERN-DAY CLIMATE RECORD

Professor Matthew England FRSN FAA, Climate Change Research Centre, UNSW Sydney

Professor Matthew England is Scientia Professor of Ocean & Climate Dynamics at the University of New South Wales who has previously held ARC Laureate and Federation Fellowships. He was the founding Director of the UNSW Climate Change Research Centre (CCRC) during 2006-2013. In 2014 he was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, and in 2016 as a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of NSW and was the winner of the Society's most prestigious award, the James Cook Medal, in 2019.

Certain aspects of the climate record are often seized upon in an attempt to disprove the threat of human-caused climate change. Notable examples include the decade-long slowdown in global surface warming that occurred in the early 2000's, as well as recent surface cooling and sea-ice expansion around Antarctica. This talk will describe how ocean and climate dynamics can explain these behaviours of the coupled climate system, and how the threat of anthropogenic climate change remains as real as ever.

7 VOTE OF THANKS AND CLOSE