Hunter Branch

About the Branch and its Role

The Council of the Royal Society of NSW confirmed the establishment of the Hunter Branch of the Society at its October 2019 meeting. This followed an inaugural meeting, held in Newcastle on 9 October 2019, at which a branch committee was elected.

The Hunter Branch of the Royal Society of New South Wales represents a source of specialised expertise, advice, and support for the various Governmental, industrial and community groupings comprising the Hunter region of NSW. It will:

  • It will encourage, stimulate and support the creation of a vibrant intellectual community within the Hunter region of NSW, promoting debate, discussion and policy development around a range of contemporary issues affecting our region’s communities.
  • It will encourage, stimulate and support the growth of promising young talent within the Hunter region of NSW, with a particular emphasis on the most disadvantaged members of our community.
  • It will encourage and enhance the development of research excellence and leadership across the public, business, and community sectors in the Hunter region of NSW, focusing world-class knowledge and know-how on issues of importance to our region.
  • It will raise the national and international profile of the Hunter region as a centre for world-class creativity and innovation.
  • It will promote the concept of the Hunter region as a living laboratory where the results of research and innovation can be implemented and assessed in terms of their contributions to the health and well-being of local communities as well as the economic and environmental sustainability of our region.
  • It will be responsible for awarding an annual prize (the Hunter Medal) to the national or international figure who has made the greatest intellectual contribution to subject areas that have relevance for our region.

Office-bearers for 2023–2024

Office-bearers elected at the third Annual General Meeting held on 16 March 2023 are:

Chair Emeritus Professor George Willis FRSN FAA
Secretary    Adjunct Professor Robert Whittaker AM FRSN
Committee Members     Distinguished Emeritus Laureate Professor John Aitken
FRSE FRSN FAHMS FAA (Immediate Past Chair)
  Dr Philip Bailey MRSN
  Emeritus Scientia Professor Eugenie Lumbers AM FRSN FAA


Please address enquiries to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Hunter News & Events

Social Media Links

facebook 1 twitter 1 youtube linkedin 1
Subscribe to our mailing list


Site by
Privacy policy |  Links to other societies
Editor Login
Disclaimer: Positions expressed on this website by authors of publications and
event presenters do not necessarily reflect those of the Society.
The Royal Society of New South Wales acknowledges the traditional custodians
of the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past and present.
All rights reserved. Copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.
ABN: 76 470 896 415


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.