Royal Society of NSW News & Events

Royal Society of NSW News & Events

RSNSW Council Elections 2022: Declaration of Results

Council Elections 2022: Declaration of Results

The electronic ballot for the 2022 Council Elections of the Royal Society of NSW closed at noon on Tuesday, 5 April 2021. There were 222 ballots submitted by 670 eligible voters, representing an overall return of 33.1%.

The outcome of the election is as follows.

For the election of four (4) Council members

There were 840 votes tallied with 12 abstentions from the 222 ballots received.

Councillors, in alphabetical order, elected for a two-year term are:

  • Professor Sean Brawley FRSN with 149 votes
  • Professor Philip Gale FRSN with 179 votes
  • Ms Pamela Griffith FRSN with 193 votes
  • Emeritus Professor Robert Marks FRSN with 185 votes


The newly elected Council members shall remain in office for two years from just after the Annual General Meeting on 6 April 2022 until the Annual General Meeting in April 2024.

The Hon. John Dowd AO QC FRSN
Returning Officer, Royal Society of NSW

Site by
Privacy policy |  Links to other societies
Editor Login
Disclaimer: Positions expressed on this website by authors of publications and
event presenters do not necessarily reflect those of the Society.
The Royal Society of New South Wales acknowledges the traditional custodians
of the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past and present.
All rights reserved. Copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.
ABN: 76 470 896 415


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.