Royal Society of NSW News & Events

Royal Society of NSW News & Events

Royal Society of NSW Awards for 2020

RSNSW Seal The Royal Society of NSW announced its Awards for 2020 at the 1289th Ordinary General Meeting on Wednesday, 9 December 2020.  These prestigious awards, awarded by Australia's oldest learned society, recognise outstanding achievements and excellence in science, engineering, philosophy and the arts.

The awards and their recipients announced at this meeting were:

  • James Cook Medal—Scientia Professor Richard Bryant AC FASSA FAA FAHMS
  • Clarke Medal and Lecture—Distinguished Professor Michelle Leishman
  • Edgeworth David Medal—Associate Professor Brett Hallam
  • History and Philosophy Medal—Professor Alison Bashford FRSN FAHA FBA FRHistS
  • Liversidge Lecture—Professor Richard Payne FRSN FRACI FRSC
  • Poggendorff Lectureship—Professor Angela Moles FRSN
  • Jak Kelly Award—Mr Matthew Donnelly
  • Royal Society of NSW Scholarships—Mr Sajad Razavi Bazaz, Mr Daniel Fox, and Ms Phillipa Specker
  • Royal Society of NSW Medal—Emerita Professor Mary O’Kane AC FRSN FTSE Hon FIEAust
  • Royal Society of NSW Citation—Emeritus Professor Heinrich Hora FRSN FAIP FInstP.


Details about the recipients can be found on the Royal Society website.  


Site by
Privacy policy |  Links to other societies
Editor Login
Disclaimer: Positions expressed on this website by authors of publications and
event presenters do not necessarily reflect those of the Society.
The Royal Society of New South Wales acknowledges the traditional custodians
of the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past and present.
All rights reserved. Copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.
ABN: 76 470 896 415


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.