Royal Society of NSW News & Events

Royal Society of NSW News & Events

Four Society Fellows amongst the winners of the 2023 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

Eureka Prizes logoThe Royal Society of New South Wales is delighted to learn that four of its Fellows, Professor Renae Ryan AM FRSN, a neuroscientist from the University of Sydney,  Professor Richard Kingsford FRSN, an environmental scientist and river ecologist from UNSW Sydney, Professor Toby Walsh FRSN FAA, a computer scientist and artificial intelligence researcher from UNSW Sydney, and Professor Karu Esselle FRSN, an antenna engineer from the University of Technology Sydney, have been awarded Australian Museum Eureka Prizes for 2023 at a ceremony held in Sydney on the evening of Wednesday, 23 August. 

The Council of the Society warmly congratulates Professors Kingsford, Ryan, Walsh, and Esselle on their achievements, and on this recognition of the impact of their outstanding research.

Renae RyanProfessor Renae Ryan has won the 2023 University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers.  Professor Ryan has advanced the careers of many young researchers through mentorship, networking, and advocacy. Driving university-wide gender equity initiatives and founding the Sydney Medical School Early Career Researcher Network, she helped increase the representation of women at the professorial level in her faculty, fostering a more inclusive and supportive academic environment.

Richard KingsfordProfessor Richard Kingsford is the leader of the UNSW Waterbirds Aerial Survey Team which has won the 2023 NSW Environment and Heritage Eureka Prize for Applied Environmental Research. This team has conducted one of the largest and longest-running wildlife surveys in the world. As well as influencing the Murray-Darling Basin Plan and the nomination and management of Ramsar-listed wetlands, their data has contributed to the gazettal of three new national parks, and the conservation of waterbirds and freshwater ecosystems, including rivers.

Toby WalshProfessor Toby Walsh is the winner of the 2023 Celestino Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science.  Professor Walsh is a world-renowned authority in artificial intelligence (AI), exploring subjects such as self-driving cars and autonomous weapons. On television, in books, and at academic forums he leads conversations about our AI-driven future: what it will look like, how we can prepare, and what we should be wary of.

Karu EsselleProfessor Karu Esselle is the leader of the MetaSteerers Team from the University of Technology Sydney, the Defence Science and Technology Group, and Macquarie University which has won the 2023 Department of Defence Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia. This team has developed a low-profile, energy-efficient and steerable antenna system to help the Australian Defence Force (ADF) gain a crucial advantage in battle. Their unique system allows the ADF to transmit large volumes of data or track suspicious radio activity across a wide bandwidth while remaining almost invisible to adversaries.

To read further, please see the announcement on the Australian Museum website

Site by
Privacy policy |  Links to other societies
Editor Login
Disclaimer: Positions expressed on this website by authors of publications and
event presenters do not necessarily reflect those of the Society.
The Royal Society of New South Wales acknowledges the traditional custodians
of the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past and present.
All rights reserved. Copyright © The Royal Society of NSW.
ABN: 76 470 896 415


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.