The Warren Prize

The Warren Prize consists of a medal in recognition of research by engineers and technologists in their early to mid-careers.  Early-career researchers will have established a publication record in top-tier journals and wish to reach a broader audience. Mid-career researchers will have completed a larger body of work relevant to society.

In both cases, the research must have originated or have been carried out principally in New South Wales. Entries may be submitted by researchers from any public or private organisation that encourages original research and development.

Nominations for the Warren Prize close on 30 September of each year in which nominations are sought. The application procedure is described on the nomination form. Each application must comply with the conditions of the award and consist of a completed nomination form together with supporting documentation as specified on the form. Completed nominations should be sent to the email address listed on the nomination form. The successful candidate will contribute an original paper to the Journal and Proceedings of the Royal Society of New South Wales, written to the Journal’s requirements by a date agreed with the Journal’s This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The Warren Prize has been established by the Royal Society of NSW to acknowledge Professor Warren's contribution both to the Society and to the technological disciplines in Australia and internationally. William Henry Warren established the first faculty of engineering in New South Wales and was appointed as its Professor at the University of Sydney in 1884.  Professor Warren was President of the Royal Society of New South Wales on two occasions.  He had a long career of more than 40 years and during this time was considered to be the most eminent engineer in Australia.  When the Institution of Engineers, Australia was established in 1919, Professor Warren was elected as its first President.  He established an internationally respected reputation for the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Sydney and published extensively, with many of his papers being published in the Journal and Proceedings of the Royal Society of New South Wales.

Warren Prize 2021

Noushin NasiriThe Warren Prize for 2021 has been awarded to Dr Noushin Nasiri, a Senior Lecturer in the Macquarie University School of Engineering and Head of the Macquarie Nanotech Laboratory. Dr Nasiri is a dynamic early career researcher whose work, which is highly regarded and recognised, combines multidisciplinary techniques in the field of nanomaterials, nanoelectronics, and chemistry to develop innovative nanomaterials that transform nanosensing technologies. Her work has already resulted in practical, beneficial outcomes, such as the world’s first wearable sensor, capable of differentiating between UVA and UVB rays, that alerts users in real-time to over-exposure to UV radiation. The technology is tailored for individuals, taking into account different skin types when calculating sun-safe limits.

Warren Prize 2020

Dr Simon Devitt The Warren Prize of the Royal Society of NSW has been awarded to Dr Simon Devitt of the Centre for Quantum Software and Information at the University of Technology Sydney. The judges were impressed with Dr Devitt’s portfolio of achievements, including his publication in top-tier journals, and his activity in commercialising ideas in the realm of quantum computing through start-up companies. Dr Devitt, who completed his PhD in 2007 at the University of Melbourne, has held positions at the National Institute of Informatics, Ochanomizu University, Keio University and Riken in Japan, and has worked as research fellow for the ARC Centre of Excellence in Engineered Quantum Systems (EQUS) at Macquarie University. He has developed key quantum computing architectures in atom-optics, diamond and ion trap systems, and invented quantum communications designs, second and third generation repeaters and the quantum sneakernet. Most recently, his work has focussed on the design of programming, compilation, and optimisation techniques for large-scale quantum technology.

2020      Simon J. Devitt      2021      Noushin Nasiri     


These prestigious awards for excellence in science, engineering, philosophy and the arts, awarded by Australia's oldest learned society, recognise outstanding achievements.

In 2022, nominations will be sought for the:
James Cook MedalClarke Medal and Memorial LectureEdgeworth David MedalHistory and Philosophy of Science Medal, Walter Burfitt Prize, Warren Prize, and the Royal Society of NSW Scholarships.

Also, nominations will be sought for the Royal Society of NSW Medal and the Royal Society of NSW Citations, each of which recognise substantive contributions by a Member or Fellow to the work of the Society.

Nominations for the 2022 Awards open on 1 July 2022 and close on 30 September 2022. 

Each application must be accompanied by a completed nomination form and supply the specified information. Nominations should be sent to this email address.

Information about the Awards, instructions for making nominations, and links to the nomination forms can be obtained by clicking on the Award name in the drop-down list under the “Awards” menu.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.