The Royal Society of New South Wales Citation

On this page:

About the Citation

The Royal Society of New South Wales Citation was introduced in 2019.  It is awarded to a Member or Fellow of the Society who has made significant contributions to the Society, but who has not been recognised in any other way. The Awards Committee considers nominations made by a Member or Fellow. A maximum of three Citations in any one year may be awarded.

Nominations for the award close on 30 September in each year. A letter of nomination, outlining the significant contribution that the nominee has made to the Society, should be sent to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Return to the top of the page

Recent Citation Recipients

2019 Citation Recipients

Dr Erik Waldemar Aslaksen FRSN

Erik W. Aslaksen FRSN is a senior, highly experienced systems engineer having worked in the US, Switzerland and Australia in fields as diverse as microwave components, power electronics, quantum electronics and communications, in areas ranging from basic research to corporate management. He has ongoing involvement in transport infrastructure and the design of industrial plant and is the author of five books (one with W.R. Belcher) and over seventy papers. His book, The Social Bond (Springer 2018) brings his engineering, systems approach to society as a whole. He will continue this theme with The Stability of Society (expected mid 2020). With these books, Dr Aslaksen continues the Enlightenment tradition of the RSNSW.

Dr Aslaksen was a member of the Council of the RSNSW from 2013 to 2019 and during that period was a tireless worker for the Society. He worked closely with The Association Specialists during the transition establishing outsourced back-office services for the Society and was instrumental in developing the relationship and ensuring that the transition was seamless. He served energetically on the Executive Committee and continues to be a highly efficient Secretary of the Fellows Assessment Committee.

Prof. E. James Kehoe FRSN

Professor E. James Kehoe FRSN is a behavioural neuroscientist whose areas of interest are associative learning, its neural substrates, and neural network models. He has worked in instructional design, researching working memory, schema formation and computer-based learning. He is a senior officer in the Australian Army Reserve, advising on character and values, and teamwork and leadership development.

Professor Kehoe was an enthusiastic member of Council from 2016 to 2018. The particular contributions that Professor Kehoe made to the renaissance of the Society were editing The Bulletin (2015–17) and chairing the Awards Committee (2016–19). Drawing on his extensive experience in newspaper publishing early in his career, he steered The Bulletin in a direction that gained a substantial readership. This publication is an important means of communicating to members and to the broader community and was an important component of publicising the progress that the Society was making across a range of activities. Professor Kehoe continued and nurtured our association with the Chief Scientist and Engineer of NSW and the yearly meeting of Deans of Science and Engineering to advise the Awards Committee.

Return to the top of the page


This is your chance to nominate a person who you believe is eligible for a Royal Society of NSW Award or Medal.  These prestigious prizes for excellence in science, engineering, philosophy and the arts, awarded by Australia's oldest learned society, recognise outstanding achievement by Australian intellectuals. 

In 2020, nominations are sought for the:
Archibald Ollé Prize, Clarke Medal, Edgeworth David Medal, History and Philosophy of Science Medal, James Cook Medal, Poggendorff Lectureship, Royal Society of NSW Scholarships, and Warren Prize

In addition, the Liversidge Lecture will be awarded in 2020, on a recommendation from the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI).

Nominations are also sought for the Royal Society of NSW Medal and the Royal Society of NSW Citations, each of which recognise substantive contributions, by a Member or Fellow, to the work of the Society.

Nominations close on 30 September of each year and should be sent to the Society’s Awards Committee.

Information about the Awards and instructions for making nominations, click on the Award name in the drop-down list under the “Awards” menu.

Useful links

Social Media Links


facebook 1 youtube

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.