The James Cook Medal

The James Cook Medal is awarded periodically by the Royal Society of New South Wales for outstanding contributions to science and human welfare in and for the Southern Hemisphere.

Nominations for the James Cook Medal close on 30 September of each year. The application procedure for this medal is described on the nomination form. Each application must comply with the conditions of the award and consist of a completed nomination form together with supporting documentation as specified on the form. Completed nominations should be sent to the email address listed on the nomination form.

The James Cook Medal was established in 1947 with funding by Henry Ferdinand Halloran.  Halloran, who joined the Society in 1892 as a 23-year-old, was a surveyor, engineer and town planner.  He did not publish in the Society's Journal but he was a very enthusiastic supporter of research.  Henry Halloran funded what were to become the Society's two most prestigious awards, the James Cook Medal and the Edgeworth David Medal, the latter being an award for promising young scientists.

James Cook Medal 2022

John ChurchThe winner of the James Cook Medal for 2022 is Emeritus Professor John A Church AO FAA FTSE FAMS FAGU of the Climate Change Research Centre, UNSW Sydney. Professor Church is the world’s pre-eminent authority on the rate of 20th century sea-level rise, with his work on quantifying historical changes having been pivotal in revolutionising our modern view of sea level rise, including the first detection of the acceleration in the rate of rise. His ground-breaking papers, published with both national and international colleagues, explain a long-standing conundrum about the causes for the observed 20th century sea-level rise. He has provided substantial improvements in estimates of ocean heat uptake, resolving discrepancies between observations and models as well as the causes. In addition, he has been an international leader in sea level assessments and projections and his work has established that anthropogenic climate forcing is responsible for the majority of observed sea level rise since 1970.

James Cook Medal 2021

Rose AmalThe winner of the James Cook Medal for 2021 is Professor Rose Amal AC FRSN FTSE FAA, Scientia Professor of Chemical Engineering at UNSW (Sydney). Professor Amal is an acknowledged international leader in the field of chemical engineering. Her research has changed the way in which the properties of catalysts are understood, with her scientific breakthroughs in catalysis leading to real-world applications for sustainable environment and energy applications. In particular, she is renowned for her photocatalysis breakthroughs for large-scale industrial water treatment and the generation of ‘clean hydrogen’, i.e., the production of hydrogen from water using solar energy powered by an electrolyser, including the generation of hydrogen directly from seawater. Her contributions to science and human welfare in and for the Southern Hemisphere have been extensive.

James Cook Medal 2020

Professor Richard BryantThe winner of the James Cook Medal for 2020 is Scientia Professor Richard Bryant AC FASSA FAA FAHMS of UNSW (Sydney). Professor Bryant has made many seminal advances in the diagnosis, treatment, and identification of neural, genetic, and cognitive markers of post-traumatic psychopathology. His work has challenged the pre-existing notions of acute psychological response to trauma leading to major policy and practice shifts internationally in relation to how trauma survivors are managed. Professor Bryant has translated his findings into improving the mental health of communities throughout the Southern Hemisphere (as well as many trauma-affected countries in the northern hemisphere).

James Cook Medal 2019

Matthew England cropsq 200pxThe winner of the James Cook Medal for 2019 is Scientia Professor Matthew England FRSN FAA of the UNSW Climate Change Research Centre. Professor England is recognised as one of the world’s foremost experts in how the world’s oceans control regional and global climate on time scales from seasons to millennia. His field of research spans physical oceanography and climate dynamics, where he has written seminal papers on Southern Ocean water-mass formation, Antarctic ocean-atmosphere-ice interactions, climate modes of variability, and ocean ventilation processes. Importantly, in the context of the James Cook Medal, England has a sustained track record of outstanding research and discovery in areas that make an impact on human welfare, both here in Australia and across other regions of the Southern Hemisphere, including improved predictions of rainfall and climate variability, discoveries of the oceanic drivers of severe drought and flooding rains, and quantification of the impacts of climate change and the fate of ocean pollution.

James Cook Medal 2018

Professor Elizabeth ElliottThe winner of the James Cook Medal for 2018 is Professor Elizabeth Elliott AM FAHMS. She is Professor at the University of Sydney Clinical School and a practising paediatrician. This prize recognises Professor Elliott’s significant contributions to improving the health and quality of life, as well as human rights, of ill and disadvantaged children in Australia, the Asia Pacific and beyond. Her translational research has been at the forefront of advances in evidence-based paediatrics, rare diseases, gastroenterology and foetal alcohol spectrum disorder.

List of Past Recipients of the James Cook Medal

Year Recipient
1947 The Rt. Hon. J.C. Smuts
1948 B.A. Houssay
1950 Sir Neil H. Fairley
1951 Sir Norman McAlister Gregg
1952 W.L. Waterhouse
1953 Sir David Rivett
1954 Sir Frank M. Burnet
1955 A.P. Elkin
1956 Sir Ian Clunies Ross
1959 Albert Schweitzer
1961 Sir John Eccles
1964 M.R. Lemberg
1965 John Gunther
1966 Sir William Hudson
1969 Lord Casey of Berwick
1974 Sir Marcus L. Oliphant
1975 A. Walsh
1977 I.A. Watson
1978 Sir Lawrence J. Wackett
1979 Robert J. Walsh
1984 Ronald Lawrie Huckstep
1985 Donald Metcalf
1987 Phillip Garth Law
1991 Graeme Milbourne Clark
1994 Sir Gustav Nossal
2013 Brien Holden
2014 Martin Green
2016 David Cooper
2017 Gordon Parker
2018 Elizabeth Elliott
2019 Matthew England
2020 Richard Bryant
2021 Rose Amal
2022 John A. Church

A brief citation and photograph for each recipient is available here.


These prestigious awards for excellence in science, engineering, philosophy and the arts, awarded by Australia's oldest learned society, recognise outstanding achievements.

Nominations for the 2022 Awards have now closed.  The winners of these awards will be announced at the Society's Ordinary General Meeting to be held on 7 December 2022. 

Information about the Awards, instructions for making nominations, and links to the nomination forms can be obtained by clicking on the Award name in the drop-down list under the “Awards” menu.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.