The Royal Society of New South Wales

What we do

The Society encourages "... studies and investigations in Science, Art, Literature and Philosophy"

This is achieved through the following activities:

  • Publication of results of scientific investigations through its Journal and Proceedings,
  • Awarding prizes and medals for outstanding achievements in research,
  • Liaison with other similar bodies,
  • Holding meetings for the benefit of members and the general public (special meetings are held for the Pollock Memorial Lecture in Physics and Mathematics, the Liversidge Research Lecture in Chemistry, the Poggendorf Memorial Lecture in Agriculture and the Clarke Memorial Lecture in Geology),
  • Maintaining a library.

The Governor of New South Wales is the Society's Vice Regal Patron.

Throughout its history, the Society has done much to foster local research, particularly in science, through meetings, symposia, publications and international scientific exchange, and has supported and fostered the endeavours of other organizations dedicated to the furtherance of knowledge.


The Society exists to advance knowledge and to communicate it in the Society’s publications and other media. The Society encourages researchers and leaders to present the outcomes of their investigations at the meetings, forums, conferences and other events organised by the Society. It provides a forum for the expression and transmission of ideas.

The Society upholds the principles of liberal democracy and encourages a non-discriminatory discourse and the free exchange of ideas that respect religious, political and cultural freedoms, seeing these as fundamental to Australian intellectual life.

In line with these values, and in support of these principles, the Council adopted (January 2020) a Diversity and Inclusion Policy, which will be considered by Council annually and updated as appropriate.

Further information about the Society’s values is available here.


The Society has its head office in Sydney, a long-standing, active branch at Mittagong in the Southern Highlands, and a new branch in the Hunter, established in 2019. Regular meetings are held in all locations, and are well attended by members and visitors. A further branch at Orange in the Central West of NSW has been active in the recent past.


Membership of the Royal Society of New South Wales is open to any person interested in the promotion of studies in Science, Art, Literature and Philosophy and is an avenue through which individuals can share in the work of the Society. Futher details of membership, including the benefits, categories of membership, and how to join the Society are available on the website. 

Social Media Links


facebook 1 youtube

Distinguished Fellows


List of Presidents

Useful links

Support us

We are a registered charity and very much welcome your support. Donations in support of our Scholarship and Library programs are tax deductible in Australia.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.